DIY laundry soap and giveaway!

It’s been almost 6 months that I’ve been making my own laundry detergent and the verdict is in – I LOVE IT! It’s one of the most thrifty changes we’ve made and definitely saves us $$!

The ingredients are easy and the ratios can change. I do equal parts: Arm&Hammer Super Washing Soda, Fels Naptha and Borax. I use1-2 tablespoons per load.

20130728-231235.jpg

I’ve read mixed reviews about how “clean” these ingredients are but I dig em. They get my 3 boys clothes clean! My next batch I might use a Castile soap bar instead of the Fels, just for shits and giggles.

Comment below with your fav cleaning tip for your chance to win your own DIY laundry ingredients to make your own! 1 winner will be randomly chosen to receive 1 box each washing soap and Borax and a couple bars Fels Naptha! Don’t forget your email address! Ends 8/12/13!

3 thoughts on “DIY laundry soap and giveaway!

  1. My Mom always had a bar of Fels-Naptha sitting on her washing machine. She would rub in on a stain, and then let it “work” for a few minutes, before putting the item in the washing machine. I don’t ever remember us having a permanent stain on anything! Can’t wait to start making my own laundry detergent! If it works for Sarah’s boy’s laundry, I’m sure it’ll handle mine!!!

  2. How do you do this as a “dry” mixture?

    I did a similar recipe years ago where you shaved the Naptha and dissolved it in hot water. Then added the borax & washing soda … then put the mixture in a 5 gallon bucket and filled it with hot water & stirred. Use one cup per load. Worked great … and oh so affordable!!!

    • Hey Carol!

      It’s exactly the same way but you just don’t dissolve the Naptha in water. I shred mine (not even ultra fine) and just mix it with the dry ingredients. I would think it works even better because you’re not diluting it in water before putting it in the wash. If you prefer a liquid soap I’ve seen recipes online using liquid Castile soap instead of the Naptha! Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

